Australia will warm up for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup with a white-ball series in India in September, and home series against West Indies and England.

Cricket Australia announced an action-packed summer schedule on Monday, with the T20 World Cup on home soil between October 16 and November 13 the standout.

While the exact dates of the away tour to India have yet to be finalised, Australia will play two matches against West Indies on the Gold Coast and three matches against England in Brisbane and Canberra prior to the 20-over showcase commencing.

The moment Australia won the T20 World Cup 2021

Australia will host England in a three-match ODI series after the completion of the T20 World Cup, before back-to-back Test series against West Indies and South Africa starting at the end of November.

Cricket Australia chose to go away from tradition and award Optus Stadium in Perth the first Test of the home summer, with Adelaide Oval then hosting the second and final Test against West Indies that will be part of the World Test Championship.

The Gabba will then host the opening Test against the Proteas prior to Christmas, before the traditional Boxing Day Test at the MCG and New Year’s Test at the SCG.

The dates for upcoming Women’s series were also announced on Monday, with Australia hosting Pakistan in ODI and T20I series in January prior to the Women’s ICC T20 World Cup in South Africa in February.

Meg Lanning’s side will also take part in the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham this year, before embarking on a tour of India during December.

Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley welcomed the announcement and is already hoping that both Australia’s Men’s and Women’s sides can defend their T20 World Cup titles over the next 12 months.

“Both our teams have the opportunity to defend their T20 World Cup titles, the men’s team on home soil and the women’s team in South Africa, as our exceptional players inspire the next generation of cricketers in the shortest format of the game,” Hockley said.

“I would like to take this opportunity to wish our No.1-ranked women’s team the best of luck as they head to Ireland and then England for the Commonwealth Games. It’s the start of an exciting eight months for the team that also includes a tour to India, home series against Pakistan, the opportunity to play in the Hundred and our own extended domestic season, before the T20 World Cup.”


Australia’s heroes of the T20 World Cup

Hockley said the reduction of many restrictions due to Covid-19 had made scheduling a bit easier than in recent years.

“After two years of being impacted by the pandemic, the 2022-23 home summer will be an especially busy one for the Australian men’s team as we honour our commitments to the ICC’s Future Tours Program. This provides important opportunities to progress towards ICC World Test Championship Final qualification as well as build up for the ICC Men’s One-Day World Cup in India in 2023,” he added.

“While the timing of the ODI series against South Africa is set out in the Future Tours Program, we have had a recent request from Cricket South Africa to reconsider the dates of the three games, but have been unable to find alternative dates as yet.”


Men’s ODI Series v Zimbabwe
August 28: Riverway Stadium, Townsville
August 31: Riverway Stadium, Townsville
September 3: Riverway Stadium, Townsville

Men’s ODI Series v New Zealand
September 6: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)
September 8: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)
September 11: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)

Men’s T20I Series v West Indies
October 5: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast
October 7: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

Men’s T20I Series v England
October 9: The Gabba, Brisbane
October 12: Manuka Oval, Canberra
October 14: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Men’s ICC T20 World Cup
October 16 – November 13

Men’s ODI Series v England
November 17: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)
November 19: SCG, Sydney (D/N)
November 22: MCG, Melbourne (D/N)

Men’s Test Series v West Indies
November 30 – December 4: Perth Stadium, Perth
December 8 – December 12: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)

Men’s Test Series v South Africa
December 17 – December 21: The Gabba, Brisbane
December 26 – December 30: MCG, Melbourne
January 4 – January 8: SCG, Sydney

Men’s ODI Series v South Africa*
*Dates subject to confirmation
January 12: Blundstone Arena, Hobart
January 14: SCG, Sydney
January 17: Perth Stadium, Perth

Women’s ODI Series v Pakistan
January 16: Allan Border Field, Brisbane
January 18: Allan Border Field, Brisbane
January 21: North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Women’s T20I Series v Pakistan
January 24: North Sydney Oval, Sydney
January 27: Manuka Oval, Canberra
January 29: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Away Tours

Men’s Tour of Sri Lanka
June 7 – July 12

Women’s T20I Tri-Series
Australia | Pakistan | Ireland
July 16 – July 23: Derry

2022 Commonwealth Games
July 29 – August 7: Birmingham

Men’s Tour of India

Women’s Tour of India

Women’s ICC T20 World Cup
February 9 – February 26: South Africa

Men’s Tour of India
February – March

By 4difm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.